ⓘ Sports trophies ..

Broadmoor Trophy

The Broadmoor Trophy is a trophy that has been awarded to the Western Collegiate Hockey Association playoff champion since 1985. The trophy itself dates to 1981, when it was awarded to the WCHA regular season champion for three seasons, from 1981–82 to 1983–84. During that time, the Broadmoor Trophy served as the replacement for the MacNaughton Cup, traditionally awarded to the WCHA regular season champion. The trophy is named after The Broadmoor resort in Colorado Springs, Colorado, which has a long history of supporting college hockey.

Claret Jug

The Golf Champion Trophy, commonly known as the Claret Jug, is the trophy presented to the winner of The Open Championship, one of the four major championships in golf. The awarding of the Claret Jug dates from 1872, when a new trophy was needed after Young Tom Morris had won the original Challenge Belt presented by Prestwick Golf Club outright in 1870 by winning the Championship three years in a row. Prestwick had both hosted and organised the Championship from 1860 to 1870. By the time that Prestwick had reached agreement with the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews and the Honoura ...

James E. Foy, V-ODK Sportsmanship Trophy

The James E. Foy, V-ODK Sportsmanship Trophy, more commonly known as the Foy-ODK Sportsmanship Trophy, is awarded annually to the winner of the Iron Bowl football rivalry game between the University of Alabama and Auburn University. The trophys namesakes are Dean James E. Foy, V, who served at both Auburn and Alabama and the father of photojournalist Mary Lou Foy, and Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society, which has circles at both universities. In years of Auburn victories, the trophy is displayed at the Auburn Arena in the Jonathan B. Lovelace Hall of Honor, and following ...

Harley J. Earl Trophy

The Harley J. Earl Trophy is the trophy presented to the winner of the premier – and season-opening – event of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, the Daytona 500. It is named after influential automobile designer Harley Earl, who served as the second commissioner of NASCAR. Earl has been known as the so-called "father of the Corvette" and designer of the Firebird I prototype that adorns the trophy. The trophy is kept on display at the Daytona International Speedway, while a small replica is given to each Daytona 500 winner.

Heisman Trophy

The Heisman Memorial Trophy, is awarded annually to the outstanding player in NCAA football. Winners epitomize great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work. It is presented by the Heisman Trophy Trust in early December before the postseason bowl games. The award was created by the Downtown Athletic Club in 1935 to recognize "the most valuable college football player east of the Mississippi," and was first awarded to University of Chicago halfback Jay Berwanger. After the death in October 1936 of the Clubs athletic director, John Heisman, the award was named in his hon ...

Masters Tournament

The Masters Tournament is one of the four major championships in professional golf. Scheduled for the first full week of April, the Masters is the first major of the year, and unlike the others, it is always held at the same location, Augusta National Golf Club, a private course in the southeastern United States, in the city of Augusta, Georgia. The Masters was started by amateur champion Bobby Jones and investment banker Clifford Roberts. After his grand slam in 1930, Jones acquired the former plant nursery and co-designed Augusta National with course architect Alister MacKenzie. First pl ...

Philip F. Anschutz Trophy

The Philip F. Anschutz Trophy is a silver trophy that is awarded to winners of MLS Cup. Since the inaugural MLS Cup in 1996, three trophies have been used: the Alan I. Rothenberg Trophy from 1996 to 1997, a second version of the Rothenberg Trophy from 1998 to 2007, and the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy since 2008. The trophy appears in the logo of the tournament, as well as the former "scudetto" worn by defending champions.

Sprint Cup (trophy)

The Sprint Cup Trophy is the trophy that was presented to the championship winner of the premier series of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing from 2004 to 2016. It is made of sterling silver with a wood base and it depicts two checkered flags in flight, and was created by silversmiths Tiffany & Co., whose other major championship trophies in sports have included the World Series Commissioners Trophy, the NFLs Vince Lombardi Trophy, given to the champions of the Super Bowl and the Larry OBrien Trophy, handed to the playoff champions of the NBA following the NBA Finals. The t ...

Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup is the championship trophy awarded annually to the National Hockey League playoff winner. It is the oldest existing trophy to be awarded to a professional sports franchise in North America, and the International Ice Hockey Federation considers it to be one of the "most important championships available to the sport". The trophy was commissioned in 1892 as the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup and is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, the Governor General of Canada who donated it as an award to Canadas top-ranking amateur ice hockey club. The entire Stanley family supported th ...

Viktoria (trophy)

The Viktoria, formerly spelled Victoria, is a German association football trophy which was awarded to the German champions from 1903 to 1944. It is modelled on the Roman goddess of victory, Victoria.