ⓘ Geography awards ..

Hans Egede Medal

The Hans Egede medal is awarded by the Royal Danish Geographical Society for outstanding services to geography, "principally for geographical studies and research in the Polar lands." It was instituted in 1916 and named after Hans Egede, a Danish missionary who established a mission in Greenland.

Leif Erikson Awards

The Leif Erikson Awards, sometimes referred to as the Exploration Awards, are awarded annually by the Exploration Museum in Husavik, Iceland, for achievements in exploration and for work in the field of exploration history. They are awarded in three categories; to an explorer for a lifetime achievement in exploration; to a young explorer under the age of 35 for achievements in exploration; and to a person or an organization that has worked to promote and preserve exploration history. The awards ceremony takes place annually in Husavik. The Leif Erikson Awards are the main and final event o ...

Fuchs Medal

The Fuchs Medal is a medal awarded by The British Antarctic Survey for Outstanding devotion to the British Antarctic Surveys interests, beyond the call of normal duty, by men or women who are or were members of the Survey, or closely connected with its work.

Grande Medaille d'Or des Explorations

The Grande Medaille d’Or des Explorations et Voyages de Decouverte has been awarded since 1829 by the Societe de Geographie of France for journeys whose outcomes have enhanced geographical knowledge.

Hubbard Medal

The Hubbard Medal is awarded by the National Geographic Society for distinction in exploration, discovery, and research. The medal is named for Gardiner Greene Hubbard, first National Geographic Society president. It is made of gold and is traditionally presented by the President of the United States.

Vautrin Lud Prize

The Prix International de Geographie Vautrin Lud, known in English as the Vautrin Lud Prize, is the highest award in the field of geography. Established in 1991, the award is modeled on the Nobel Prize, and colloquially called the "Nobel Prize for Geography". The award is named after the 16th Century French scholar Vautrin Lud who is credited with naming the New World America after Amerigo Vespucci. The award is given in the autumn of each year at the International Geography Festival in Saint-Die-des-Vosges, France and decided upon by a five-person international jury.

Massey Medal

The Royal Canadian Geographical Society awards the Massey Medal annually to recognize outstanding personal achievement in the exploration, development or description of the geography of Canada. The award was established in 1959, by the Massey Foundation, named for industrialist Hart Massey.