ⓘ Fingal Memorial Shield. The Fingal Memorial Shield is a trophy in the sport of shinty. It is currently the trophy presented to the winners of the St Andrews Six ..


ⓘ Fingal Memorial Shield

The Fingal Memorial Shield is a trophy in the sport of shinty. It is currently the trophy presented to the winners of the St Andrews Sixes, an international six-a-side tournament.


1. History

The shield was presented in memory of Hugh MacCorquodale, 1866-1937 who wrote for the Oban Times, under the nom-de-plume, Fingal. The trophy was presented by the Gaelic Society of Glasgow in order to encourage shinty in the South.

The Fingal tournament was originally played in Glasgow at Glasgow Universitys then home of Garscadden.

In the 1970s, the tournament was held at Glasgow and latterly at St. Andrews, St. Andrews University Shinty Club who were set up in 1967. The success of the tournament was such that when St Andrews University Shinty Club won the 1975 Shinty Yearbook Trophy its hosting of the very successful six-a-side competition was specifically mentioned. However, by the late 1980s, the tournament had fallen into abeyance and the trophy itself went missing.

The St Andrews Sixes was re-established in 1999 and has been played most years since. The shield was recovered for this event and was presented for the next few years until its long stay in Killmallie from 2004-2013. It was again recovered for 2013 and was presented to Aberdour Shinty Club. All previous winners were added to the trophy.

Aberdour were the 2017 winners.


2. Winners

  • 1964 Glasgow Mid-Argyll
  • 2012 Glasgow Island
  • 2011 St Andrews University Exiles
  • 2013 Aberdour
  • 1963 Glasgow Mid-Argyll
  • 2004 Kilmallie
  • 1986 Glasgow Highland
  • 2015 Aberdour
  • 1976 Lochaber Camanachd
  • 1969 Glasgow Mid-Argyll, defeating Kelvin
  • 1957 Glasgow Mid-Argyll
  • 2016 Aberdour
  • 1978 Bute
  • 1977 Fort William
  • 1959 Glasgow Mid-Argyll
  • 2014 Inverness-shire Camanachd
  • 1951 Glasgow University
  • 1965 Glasgow Police Shinty Club
  • 2017 Aberdour
  • 1952 Edinburgh Camanachd
  • 2003 Glenorchy
  • 1999 Musselburgh
  • 2007
  • 1953 Glasgow Skye
  • The Fingal hurling team Irish: Foireann Iomanaiochta Fhine Ghaill is an inter - county hurling team representing Fingal in the Kehoe Cup, the National
  • the club has managed to achieve University league success. The club hosts the annual St. Andrew s Sixes for the Fingal Memorial Shield Club Website
  • The Fingal District Football Association was an Australian rules football association in Fingal Valley, Tasmania from 1924 to 1992. Football had been
  • Aberdour also won the Fingal Memorial Shield at the St. Andrew s Sixes in 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017, and the Rosedearn Shield at the Inverness sixes
  • v Fingal Armagh v Down Wicklow v Meath Down v Wicklow Meath v Mayo Fingal v Armagh Wicklow v Armagh Down v Mayo Meath v Fingal Mayo v Wicklow Fingal v
  • GAA Series, which includes the Kehoe Cup and Shield Walsh Cup and Shield and the O Byrne Cup and Shield The sponsorship also helps to finance the Leinster
  • Noye Medal, whilst the premiership winner was awarded the A.V Noye Memorial Shield The Peninsula Football Association went into recess and promptly folded
  • Statistical Local Area:  Tweed Heads  Tweed Heads South  Kingscliff - Fingal Head  Pottsville Below are a list of retirement villages and retirement
  • known as the Fingal Battalion and were led by Thomas Ashe and his second in command, Richard Mulcahy. Unlike the rebels elsewhere, the Fingal Battalion
  • ISBN 0 - 9517382 - 0 - 8 - page 18 refers to Elizabeth O Donnell as 1st Countess of Fingal by marriage to Lucas Plunkett, 1st Earl of Fingall. Vanishing Kingdoms
  • platform - mounted 20mm Oerlikon anti - aircraft cannon, adding a protective shield to the 12 - pounder, and fitting twin derricks to the midship mast. The vessel