ⓘ Derbi barceloni. The Derbi Barceloni, is the name given to football matches between FC Barcelona and RCD Espanyol. Both clubs are located in the Barcelona metro ..


ⓘ Derbi barceloni

The Derbi Barceloni, is the name given to football matches between FC Barcelona and RCD Espanyol. Both clubs are located in the Barcelona metropolitan area, Spain.


1. Rivalry

In the first half of the 20th century during the Miguel Primo de Rivera dictatorship 1923–1930, FC Barcelona was the embodiment of the oppressed Catalan sentiment, in stark contrast to RCD Espanyol which cultivated a kind of compliance to the central authority.

In 1918, the municipalities of Catalonia promoted a campaign to request the Spanish Government a Statute of Autonomy. FC Barcelona joined that request and the Catalan press explained it by saying "FC Barcelona has become the club of Catalonia". The other team of the city, RCD Espanyol were dissociated from the claim.

On numerous occasions RCD Espanyol have complained of an unfavorable treatment which is sometimes directly offensive according to them, towards the club in favor of FC Barcelona by some public media dependent on the Generalitat of Catalonia like TV3.

Despite these differences in ideology, the derbi has always been more relevant to Espanyol supporters than Barcelona ones due to the difference in objectives.


2. Background and history

Though it is the most played local derby in the history of La Liga, it is also the most unbalanced, with Barcelona overwhelmingly dominant. In the league table, Espanyol has only managed to finish above Barça on three occasions in almost 70 years and the only all-Catalan Copa del Rey final was won by Barça in 1957. Espanyol has the consolation of achieving the largest margin win with a 6–0 in 1951.

In 1996, Barcelona came out on top when the teams were drawn together in the cup semi-finals, although they lost the final to Atletico Madrid. In 2000, the possibility of another derby final evaporated after Barcelona forfeited the second leg of their semi, coincidentally also against Atletico Madrid, in protest at fixture congestion which badly weakened their squad; Espanyol overcame both Real Madrid in their semi and Atletico in the final. The Pericos also claimed the trophy in 2006 and qualified for the 2006 Supercopa de España where they met league champions Barcelona – the Blaugrana winning 4–0 on aggregate.

On 8 June 2007, Espanyol achieved a 2–2 draw against Barça in the penultimate day of the championship, making it possible for Real Madrid to win the 2006–07 La Liga in their next match at the Bernabeu. This match is popularly remembered with the name of Tamudazo, for Raul Tamudo, the Espanyol player who scored the goal for the draw. Espanyol achieved a 2–1 win against Barça during 2008–09, becoming the first team to defeat Barcelona at Camp Nou in their treble-winning season.

Espanyol moved to their new RCDE Stadium in 2009, but it was not until their tenth meeting with Barcelona at their new arena that they were able to win a derby fixture three draws, six defeats, winning 1–0 in the 2017–18 Copa del Rey quarter-final, first leg on 17 January 2018. However, Barcelona overturned this 2–0 at the Camp Nou the following week to go through in the tie, the tenth time in succession since 1961 that Barça had progressed in the domestic Cup. Three years earlier, Barcelona had also won the 2014–15 Copa del Rey by beating Athletic Bilbao, with the Basques having ended Espanyols hopes, and the chance of a Catalan showpiece, in the semi-finals.

As of 2019, Barça s Lionel Messi has scored 25 goals against Espanyol, the most in the history of the derby.


3. Players who played for both sides

  • 1988: Miquel Soler
  • 2018: Philippe Coutinho via Internazionale, then Liverpool
  • 2006: Francisco Rufete
  • 2015: Aleix Vidal via 5 different clubs
  • 1966: Cayetano Re
  • 1999: Roger
  • 2000: Oscar via Valencia
  • 1961: Zoltan Czibor
  • 2002: Ivan de la Peña via Lazio
  • 2003: Jordi Cruyff via Manchester United, then Alaves
  • 1995: Cristobal Parralo via Real Oviedo
  • 1922: Ricardo Zamora
  • 1989: Steve Archibald via Hibernian
  • 1981: Javier Urruticoechea
  • 1988: Ernesto Valverde
  • 2012: Victor Sanchez via Neuchatel Xamax
  • 2012: Simão
  • 1992: Fernando Muñoz via Real Madrid
  • 2010: Sergio Garcia via Zaragoza, then Real Betis
  • 2013: Abraham Gonzalez
  • 2009: Joan Verdu via Deportivo La Coruña
  • 2009: Jonathan Soriano
  • 1999: Toni Velamazan
  • 1963: Laszlo Kubala
  • 1986: Pichi Alonso
  • 2014: Paco Montañes via 4 different clubs


4. Individual records

As of 4 January 2020

  • Most goals scored: 25, Lionel Messi 2004–present
  • Most hat-tricks scored: 3, Lionel Messi 2004–present
  • Most assists provided: 11, Lionel Messi 2004–present
  • Most appearances made: 34, Lionel Messi 2004–present

5. Womens Derbi barceloni

The womens teams of Barcelona and Espanyol are among the most successful in Spain, claiming 5 Primera Division titles Barça 4 / Espanyol 1 and 12 Copas de la Reina 6 each between them since the 1980s. However, since lifting the cup in 2012, Espanyol have not come close to winning either trophy, while Barcelona have grown stronger, building on their league victory that same season with three more consecutive titles and four cup wins in the six subsequent campaigns to 2017–18.

As of 5 February 2020
  • 18: 00 CET Montjuic, Barcelona Attendance: 75, 000 Referee: Daniel Zariquiegui Derbi barceloni Copa del Rey 1957 Association football portal Spain portal
  • Vazquez 20 August 2006 22: 00 CET Camp Nou, Barcelona Attendance: 57, 512 Referee: Mejuto Gonzalez Derbi barceloni List of Super Cup Finals 2006 RSSSF.com
  • noso Derbi Celta Vigo v Deportivo La Coruña Cantabrian derby Racing de Santander v Gimnastica Catalan derby in addition to the Derbi barceloni any
  • association football rivalries Madrid basketball derby El Clasico Derbi barceloni Sports rivalry El Viejo Clasico Kassam, Ashifa 18 May 2014 Madrid:
  • In the round of 16, Barcelona played city rivals Espanyol in the Derbi barceloni They opened on 6 January 2016 with a 4 1 home victory with goals from
  • debut four days later in a 1 1 home draw with FC Barcelona in the Derbi barceloni playing the final four minutes in place of Leo Baptistão. On 9 August
  • Catalonian public media like TV3. Despite these differences in ideology, the derbi derby has always been more relevant to Espanyol supporters than those
  • in Catalan Matches against city rivals Espanyol are known as the Derbi barceloni Barcelona has amassed various records since its founding. Regionally
  • September as a 68th - minute substitute for Gerard Deulofeu in a 5 0 Derbi barceloni win over Espanyol at the Camp Nou, assisting the final goal by Luis
  • the team sheet earlier in the day due to the flu. On 8 January, the derbi barceloni ended in a 1 1 draw with goals by Cesc Fàbregas 16th minute for Barcelona